Poets logo

Do You Ask?

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Do you ever ask

If a leaf knows its end?

In winter,

Do you ever wonder if it’ll grow its green again?

Do you ever ask

If the tide will rise

Or fall seamlessly

To its demise?

Do you ever ask

If the flame will burn out

Or extinguish itself

With ashes bound south?

Do you ever ask

If the air here is enough

Or notice how

Breathing is too tough?

These are the questions

My existence demands knowing.

My head, swayed by thoughts and information

Cannot simply complete this equation

And measure the sensation

And put on a presentation

Without

Asking

First.

What do I ask?

What more do I demand from the Ruler who cannot aid me any more

Than I can aid Him.

I have grown used to the fact

That if you want answers

You’re not going to get them.

Not easily anyways.

But rather in most painful ways possible.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.