Poets logo

Do Not Disturb

A Poem for a Troubled Mind

By LJ ChaplinPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I left the light on in my head

To let you know that I am home,

Glazed eyes

Say otherwise

So leave a message on my phone.

I can't come to the door right now,

My feelings are getting in the way,

Heart rate

Anticipates

That I'll need time to be okay.

Don’t try to ring my phone,

My demons will hang up,

I'm not being rude

So do not misconstrue

My silence is evident enough.

Don’t try to send a text my way,

For it is easy for me to deny,

Empty words

Seem so absurd

To warrant a reply.

Come back tomorrow please,

Where the day will be anew,

Trembling hands

Cannot withstand

Any company with you.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

LJ Chaplin

26, poet/writer, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.