Poets logo

Do I Really Have to Spell it Out?

A Facebook Group Admin's Lament About Boorish Behavior

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
55
https://pixabay.com/users/antonynjoro-2270637/

I make a post to congratulate a member

-Could be June, August or November-

Doesn't matter: DONT Bomb a Link!

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

I share a message to greet the new folk

-two second later, so mad I could choke-

Hey! You! STOP! DONT Bomb a Link!

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

I pass along a Vocal message re: developments new,

-sure enough, here's an unrelated post: it's you-

C'mon, dude- DONT Bomb a Link!

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

I've sent you messages, reminders, and warnings,

-you ignore me, or maybe they're scornings?-

I mean, really! DONT Bomb a Link!

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Group really is for Support,

-Other members? Your posts they report!-

I'm so over it- DONT Bomb a Link!

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Here's the thing , OK?; you're welcome to share,

-just show some class, some courtesy, care!-

Interact with the others-DONT Bomb a Link!

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Do I think you'll read this? Do I think you'll care?

-No matter; the next link bomb from you THIS link I will share-

Along with this comment-DONT Bomb a Link!

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

And do it again after that- I'ma block you.

You've been warned.

------------------------------------------------------

99.99% of the writers and creators that share their work on social media are a delight! They care, read, comment, support, advice, and celebrate the success of the rest of the group.

BUT- the rest!

Here's an explanation of the Linkbomber:

and here's some advice for new writers and creators:

What do you think? Am I overreacting? Please let me know in the comments, won't you?

how to
55

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole10 months ago

    Not overreacting at all! I feel for you as an admin, and I think you do a brilliant job!! x

  • I hadn't hearted this but had read, it's hearted now

  • Joan Gershmanabout a year ago

    Judey, You know how I feel about this. I've written two articles on it, to NO avail. I hide all link bomb comments and will soon start banning those people. They just don't get it. I'm happy to read and promote other authors' stories, but NOT if they invade my space. Oh, and those "read and clapped" comments? Are they aware that we can see in our notifications that they have neither read nor clapped? GRRRRR.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Just seeing this one Judey. I think I love you. Your devil may care attitude. Say what the heck u mean and everyone can go fly a kite thing. There is a war brewing on Vocal, we r not gonna take it anymore.

  • Megabout a year ago

    This is too perfect!

  • Natasja Roseabout a year ago

    Nah, I've started hiding link-bomb comments on my post, and blocking the repeat offenders.

  • PJ Jackelmanabout a year ago

    Not overreacting. I've blocked people who have done this on OTHER WRITER'S links. They should be warned. We're out there. ;D

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    I just block people who link bomb me. They don't care, they just have to spam others.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    I receive so many link bombs lately. One of the fastest ways to annoy me and make sure I do not interact with the bomber AT ALL. Great poetry and on point, Judey 💕🙂

  • RayPatsonabout a year ago

    accurate

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Nailed it!!!💖💖💕

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    Right on. Loving the poetry. I think this is what they call Slam style! 😉

  • Misha Kellyabout a year ago

    Well said. Congrats on top story!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    So well said. I appreciate your poetic efforts to encourage a safe and supportive environment for sharing.

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    Really it's new!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Thank you Judey. I will also be more mindful of my own behaviour. Congratulations on your Top Story. 🤗

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I do not like those serial linkers, lol great points!! Hearted and congratulations on top story

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations, and YES this should be a must read. Well done.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Congrats on Top Story . I would just block no second chance .

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on this much needed piece for Top Story!!

  • Samara Simsonabout a year ago

    Nice, congratulations on top story :)

  • Nope, not overreacting at all! These people will never learn!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.