Poets logo

Divine Mother

Homecoming Poem

By Patrick OlesonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
27
Original Artwork by Patrick Oleson

Divinity felt like family

The contours of my house are made up by the playful creatures that inhabit them

Pockets full of sunshine and creative gestures had my kids smiling like jesters

No, there's no darkness in any corner of my place

The brightness in my kids faces light up the whole space

Crafts, tickles, cuddles, hide-and-seek chasing coupled with warm embracing

My whole house is laced with love

No child goes to sleep without a kiss on the forehead and a cozy hug

I clean every room and cook food for every hungry belly

There's no strength like Motherhood

I provide the nourishment for all of the branches on my family tree

I will make sure that my seeds gather strength and affection abundantly, so in the future they can unpack themselves and reflect this house of mine

I will bare witness to the extensions of my genealogy, carry every blissful moment or hardship and transmute everything I have into my children's blessings

There's no strength like Motherhood

I will oversee the journey that is my family and love every second of our travels spent together, in my house.

Home feels like everything a Mother craves and much, much more.

Plywood marks made in response to the poem. There’s no strength like Motherhood.

surreal poetry
27

About the Creator

Patrick Oleson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.