Poets logo

Divine Intervention

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the future you will know

I was a relic of the past

I studied mighty, mythic leaders

Though my reign was unsurpassed

A Golden Age of gleaming wisdom

We grew sanctity in waves

We built peace atop the bones

Of broken chains of human slaves

I cured rampant plagues of darkness

Ended famines made of greed

The dreaded flooding never ever

Could have drowned my will to lead

To see them freed, to see them strong

To see them beautiful as one

Was the dominion of my vision

My perspective was the sun

For all to bask in my regalia

My insignia emblazoned

On a banner of existence

And the hell that it was razed in

From the ashes that I bathed in

I was born the Phoenix Dragon

Breath of fire, blood of ice

And all the elements were muses

But the earth was paradise

And with my knights and queen I conquered

Inhibition's feudal lord

I shared his fortune with the people

Then as lion kings I roared

My pride restored to walk with cubs

Baby-stepping into light

And then Apollo came to guide us

To these otherworlds I write

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.