Poets logo

Divested in Flight

Tomorrow always comes too soon

By Lamar WigginsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
12
Divested in Flight
Photo by James Wainscoat on Unsplash

I also perceive

the stains of circumstance,

beacons of lost hope in this

collective minority

Grounding

Preserving

Cultivating

Loving

~

Value is a luxury that I covet so often

Value recognizes the empathy

that I have for isolation...

My presence returns to that cave,

hibernating my thoughts of nobility

~

Maybe a change in tone

will allow my sense of being

to flourish unconditionally

But they don't consider my true self as equal,

They don't realize the incarcerated emotions

of uncherished existence

~

The hummingbird knows best

and sings a similar song

The tiny wings flutter unabated

in an endless habitat of wonder,

exquisitely energetic with purpose

They crave constant sustenance

like I crave constant acceptance...

Our wings beat of a different drum,

rhythmically unique and resolute,

contending in a world of obstinance

~

Without my participation,

nature is thrown off course

I can no longer silence

thy audacious tongue,

fading away inaudible

Stretch

Feel

Love

Speak

Reach up and out, be proud

Repeat...

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Wow, I too do not want to silence my voice. Yet how many will listen. Your poem is so radical. I can see why it was republished. Kudos on your journey.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    I love the juxtaposition!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    So soulful and beautiful!

  • Gina C.2 years ago

    What a gorgeously-written, inspirational poem! Amazing, love it so much, thank you for sharing!

  • Outstanding. Beautifully written. I love it.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Absolutely wonderful!!! Love it!! I Subscribed & left a heart!!!

  • Great words and you have a new subscriber too

  • sleepy drafts2 years ago

    Wow. I'm speechless. Simply stunning.❤️

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Those last six lines brought it home!! What a powerful poem, great work :)

  • Such a beautifully written poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.