Poets logo

Distraction

An acrostic poem.

By t.r.h. bluePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
4

Did I say I love the field, the flowers, the garden

I tend, and my working hands for tending? Did I

Suggest I love these thoroughly, with single-focus,

Tending not also to the noise of thought, to the

Red rage and roses at once,

Anxious body drifting in and out of its

Caring?

This is all I have to offer to the world,

It isn’t much: hands that give despite myself. An

Offering of kindness. Pruning and watering.

Noticing what I can.

nature poetry
4

About the Creator

t.r.h. blue

torri r.h. blue is a writer, poet, artist, photographer, and advocate. She writes poetry from West Michigan, where she lives with her wife, Alex, and their son Auden.

www.notesontheway.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    Good one❤️😉📝❗

  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    This is a beautifully written poem! I also really relate to gardening as a respite.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.