Poets logo

Distraction by Women

Just a troublesome distraction?

By Ruth StewartPublished 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
17
Distraction by Women
Photo by Jovaughn Stephens on Unsplash

Don't be too loud

I don't like long nails

Such a pretty smile

Try not to take up too much space

Right, you are wearing that?

Act like a lady

Calm down; you're being emotional!

Too bold, too strong.

I like a submissive girl

Oh, no. You aren't wearing that!

No, that will distract the boys.

social commentaryheartbreakfact or fiction
17

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist πŸ“šπŸͺΆ4 months ago

    Such a cleverly written poem... so true, can't please all of rhe people all of the time.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Pulled every which way! πŸ˜•

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Too quiet, too weak, too butch, too much makeup, we are impossible creatures.

  • πŸ₯ΉπŸ™πŸ€πŸ•ŠοΈβœ¨

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Distraction, ah fond memories. I missed this little gem back then.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I remember in school, and I was told I couldn't wear a tank top because my shoulders were too distracting; I thought it was so unfair! Great poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    I disagree with all these thoughts...and I love this poem! Well said!

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    Wow I love this! So much of what women have to hear on a daily basis summed up in this poem ❀️

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer10 months ago

    This was very real 😣

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Another Acrostic truth bomb, hon. Well done! This needed to be said!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.