Poets logo

Distracting Intrusive Thoughts

Another Dancing with Distraction Challenge entry!

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
7
Distracting Intrusive Thoughts
Photo by Ben Blennerhassett on Unsplash

Distracting

Intrusive thoughts

Suffocate me

Torture me

Rattle me

As I try to sleep, try to rest, try to forget

Creeping like death, the moment I close my eyes

Tattooed on my mind

Incapacitating me

Only comfort is sleep, when and if it comes

Nullifying me

*

Thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed this piece, please click the heart, leave a comment or both. I appreciate all feedback.

Here are a few others you might want to check out:

You can take a look at the rest of my work here.

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
7

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    Last night I couldn't tell whether my eyes were closed or not. I couldn't feel my eyelids. That was distracting!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Those SOB night-time thoughts. It's the ones I have when I wake in the middle of the night and can't fall back to blissful numbing sleep. You described these feelings perfectly.

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    This was good, Paul! And IS true. Does 'nullifying' = 'resetting' or 'canceling out'?

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Paul, this is really such a powerful piece! The stillness/quiet does bring on the onslaught. I have been there, where sleep is the only thing that seems to soothe life's hardships. Beautiful job conveying this common feeling!

  • Only comfort is sleep, when and if it comes. That line hit me so hard! Brilliant poem!

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    This is really good Paul. It can be so hard to empty your mind sometimes!

  • ARC11 months ago

    Another strong piece, Paul. *Disclaimer* I'm your friend, and this is unsolicited. So throw this (the fck) out if it doesn't resonate with you, ok? But I have a question for you: Have you ever just *listened* to the thoughts? As though you were listening to someone else speaking? Is there harm in hearing what they have to say? šŸ’™

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    gorgeous work! Sorry 2 hear that you are dealing with them... PRAYING! šŸ™šŸ¾

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.