Poets logo

Distracting From the Truth

Acrostic poem dealing with abuse.

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Distracting From the Truth
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Do you think anyone cares whether I hit you or not?

I doubt they will believe you and why should they?

Stop trying to blame it on me - is it my fault you're so dumb?

They're not really your friends anyway...why do you think they never come round to see you?

Really? It's my fault? Even though I work so hard and put a roof over your head, you're blaming me?

Are you really trying to make me hit you?

Cold salad is not what I asked for - are you deaf as well as stupid?

There's no point in trying to leave me - I'll find you. Besides, where else are you going to go?

I hurt you? That's rich! Do you remmember why I hit you in the first place?

Oh, please, spare me the waterworks. Are you still upset about me being gone all weekend?

Never embarrass me again in front of my friends or I'll give you something to really cry about. Do you understand?

*

Thanks for reading!

I was thinking about how abusers distract from what they are doing. Also, gaslighting is like a form of distraction.

CONTENT WARNINGsocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
9

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    I was once a victim of gaslighting. I only realised that in hindsight after I completely cut him off from my life. Your poem did bring back some suppressed memories but lol, you did warn me! Loved your poem!

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    Gaslighting is one an abuser’s favorite weapons. Psychological warfare. If they can keep their victim distracted from the truth, they can continue to manipulate them. It’s all about control. Very well done.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    You nailed it, Paul. That’s exactly how they try to spin it. And even though this is a great submission for the challenge, I like that it’s not blatantly an acrostic. It’s a work of art.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    So deep, my friend; it saddens me to think some people live this truth 🥺 Great job at creating awareness; amazing work!

  • Awful to think how easily some of us allow ourselves to become that sort of person, imposing our will upon others instead of engaging in a relationship. Not to mention how frequently this gets played out in our politics, churches, businesses & other institutions.

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    Interesting stuff. Well written, I enjoyed this piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.