Poets logo

Distortions of Normalcy

Inadequacy

By KaliPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

We talk to ourselves more than we talk to each other

We seek part of ourselves from someone else's remains

We hide most of our being, misrepresent it to each other

We expect relentlessly but never vocalize the thoughts

We walk hand in hand, our fingers somehow repelling each other

We secretly desire to reach each other's mind but can't fathom our own, or rather deny to

We wish to be commemorated and felt fond of by the other because we are too scared to do so

We react to other's demeanour and behave biasedly, however, are we truthful to ourselves?

We live to meet the 'parameters' of life but do we live to our own will?

We say we're fine because it is diplomatically compulsory so the real answer remains unheard

We allow others take over and proclaim because we rather stand away in the shadows from the limelight

We ponder, analyze, frame and express ourselves but the other is all ears in an unreachable land

We use assumptions of could-be/should-be but asking is not plausible

We chose to be oblivious to the voice in our head but it screams louder and louder because we do not

We fear of the truth within us but attempt to be good at gauging others, in vain

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kali

Writing has been an inherent part of me: how I celebrate myself, how I lash out my anger, how I feel sensual, how I check my ego, how I evoke the darkest zest, how I heal, and how I connect to Divine Source.

IG: @_KaliRising_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.