Poets logo

Disconnected from Lobby

A Poem on Reproductive Rights

By SC WellerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I escaped, Eve!

one eve with heave I escaped to

fall and hither through the thorns of names

like whore and shrew.

Eve, I'm free to fear the night today -

to wear the veil, the shroud, the house and obey.

Eve, our Sun, our sons,

so big, so strong

they hurt

they hurt us

I miss the moon and the peace

my mirror-like focus on the beauty in moments

But here, I fear, my dear, I'm deer -

prey for your brothers to take.

I belong in the future - you see, Eve, we've seen it just there -

a whole and colorful people

an entity entirely friend

and lead life lavishly flawed, funny, with extra fighting in bed.

It took six of nine almost dead seas of shit

to overturn this boat: a national capital capsize

fitting as now we can't even row

and have to wade.

So many will drown, and worse, will be born

again, gained what? For

I suspect the love of veal.

To feed the greed machine,

it takes the young, the pure, the clean -

victims of victims too often leave

inside, outside,

or up then down a tree.

You don't have to go missing to be missed.

Those you've damned demand you give a damn, Adams.

Stop trying to PvP - this is a CO-OP.

Cease friendly fire, noobs, we're literally on the same team!

VOTE TO KICK: [YES] NO

social commentary
1

About the Creator

SC Weller

My biggest flex is being an 8th grade Scrabble Champion.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    I also like the religious aspects of your poem, Adam and Eve. :) You gave some really interesting insights and metaphors (or allegories or comparisons or juxapositions idk what you'd call them) - things like "victims of victims" is an interesting way to describe babies of rape victims. The last three lines "Stop trying to PvP - this is a CO-OP. Cease friendly fire, noobs, we're literally on the same team! VOTE TO KICK: [YES] NO" ...were really unexpected and funny. I genuinely enjoyed this poem.

  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    I disagree with your stance on abortion, but I literally laughed out loud at this poem. My favorite part is "It took six of nine almost dead seas of shit / to overturn this boat: a national capital capsize" That's awesome and keep up the interesting work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.