Poets logo

Discarded and Forgotten

I was part of you...

By Glen McKenziePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

You held me tightly like we were lovers of old

I was part of you; you chose me

Days spent in the sunshine of our existence

Memories created

I did my part; you were all I ever wanted

You held me tightly like we were lovers of old

I was important; you told me so

Hours together in a rhythm of living

It all made sense

I did my part; you were all I ever wanted

You held me tightly like we were lovers of old

I was present; I never left

Something happened deep within you

I can see it now

I did my part; you were all I ever wanted

You held me tightly like we were lovers of old

What changed?; you once loved me

You stopped holding me like there was something wrong

I see it now

I did my part; you were all I ever wanted

You held me tightly like we were lovers of old

You tossed me away; discarded and forgotten

Like some street whore you were done with

I should have seen it

I did my part; you were all I ever wanted

You held me tightly like we were lovers of old

I deserved better; a fucking garbage can

Discarded and forgotten—no

I have seen it

I did my part; I moved on

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Glen McKenzie

"Thoughts From The Wilderness" examines how nature and the outdoors intersect with our daily struggles and presents ways we can move forward and triumph over tough issues hindering us from leading the lives we were meant to lead.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.