Poets logo

Dirty Laundry

a poem

By shiney poetryPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like

Now I've never been the one to air out dirty laundry what happened in private stayed all on me but you had no problem running your mouth about me making me the villain of every story while I hid the truth to protect your glory but maybe it's time to come clean maybe it's time to be the villain you've made me out to be.

So You want to know why I cut you off well let me explain it to you since apparently people standing up for themselves is something new to you you think you can talk to people whoever you want to and they're just supposed to be okay with it because you're just you and there's no changing the words you've ingrained in.

They're not supposed to stand up for themselves they're not supposed to speak because your word is God and they're not supposed to make a peep because if they do then they're going against you and making everyone hate you but can't you see how crazy that sounds to me?

Or maybe you've always been right and I'm the one that's crazy for thinking that one day it may change.

That it wouldn't be so hard and there wouldn't be so much pain so yeah I am crazy and I'll accept that because it's time to protect what's mine but you didn't expect that.

It's time to protect my children while the fire in them still burns so bright because you are just enough water to drown that light.

It's time to protect my children so they don't have to wonder why who they are isn't enough and feel like they have to change themselves to deserve your love.

So call me bitter, call me angry, tell me that I need to get over all the things you ripped away from me

I'll be whatever villain I need to be so my children don't suffocate from your toxicity.

And I know if you ever read this your gonna be mad, I'm gonna call it but if you didn't want your dirty laundry out there then maybe you should have kept it in the closet.

surreal poetryslam poetryheartbreakexcerpts
Like

About the Creator

shiney poetry

Hey guys I'm Cheyenne and I'm a inspiring writer and photographer. Between the Chaos and the peace is where you'll find me. can follow me on Instagram: @shiney.poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.