Poets logo

Dirty Hands

Somebody's Gotta Do It

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
8
Photo by cottonbro studio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/hands-dirty-of-engine-grease-7568424/

Dirty Hands

I want not the angel’s nor the demon’s wings, but merely those of the bird, that I may fly and my halo be the sun.

‘Twas romantic indeed to imagine myself a star! But stuck in orbit so long… I didn’t get very far.

I leave glory to the angels and the demons to the flames and embrace the hearthfire that caresses the cauldron.

For wanderlust internalized for many years made me see through different eyes!

The Way was obstructed at a crossroads where an evil spirit lies.

Sh!

Do not say its name!

It only wants a name to inspire guilt and shame!

I bid the angels and the demons and the spirits to quit their silly game!

Am I not fool enough to amuse you?

Why must we poets

Work

So

Hard

To keep you honest?

***** * *****

You Know

I was not

Always

A good person.

<>

You know

There was a time

When the pain

Exorcised itself

Through me

In a pleasant way.

<>

I was not

Always

A bad person.

<>

You know

There was a time

When the pleasure

Exorcised itself

Through me

In a painful way.

***** * *****

In a Sense

What have I really loved till now?

<>

Innocence.

<>

In a sense?

<>

One laughs where another cries.

One lives where another dies.

One wins where another loses.

<>

One acts, unaware,

Where another chooses.

<>

If we do not choose

To protect the innocent

Until they are capable

Of making their own choices

We cannot fairly say

That we love at all.

***** * *****

GANDHI

Gandhi said:

“Be the change

you want to see

in the world.”

Gandhi changed.

The world did not.

To what world did he go?

***** * *****

The Exception that Proves the Rule

We are tempted

By power

That we may be

Tempered for strength.

surreal poetryFree Verse
8

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer25 days ago

    Inner sense? 🤔

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Rivetingly raw. New subscriber here!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Awesome!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oooo, my favourite part was the pleasure that exorcised through me painfully. Loved all your poems!

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    Such a mixture of styles here and some great word play. And this line "I leave glory to the angels and the demons to the flames and embrace the hearthfire that caresses the cauldron" is just glorious in itself, never mind angels.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.