Poets logo

Dirty Fingers

Sifting Through My Mind

By MegPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
45
Dirty Fingers
Photo by David Matos on Unsplash

Talking to you feels violating

Like dirty fingers sifting through my mind.

I can’t ignore the traces of you,

You leave greasy fingerprints behind.

No matter how hard I try,

The vestige of your filth remains.

Words that taunt me in whisper,

Blend in amongst other mud stains.

Grime lingers from your sick smile,

Turning my white matter darker gray.

You have killed the lamb of my mind,

My brain has become its own prey.

Thought you were sneaky, didn’t you?

When you groped my frontal lobe.

But your conniving moves were detected,

I’m scrubbing your shadow with nettle soap.

surreal poetry
45

About the Creator

Meg

I'm here to explore the depth of human experience and to stop procrastinating my passion.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Jollyoddbod Poetryabout a year ago

    Some care not for the scars they inflict on others. You captured the darkness with strength Meg, well done.

  • This is eerily relatable! Great job!

  • Talia Devoraabout a year ago

    Beautiful. Very relatable and well written. Stay strong!

  • Kimabout a year ago

    Beautiful. Keep scrubbing 🧽 ❤️

  • Aza Y Alamabout a year ago

    Hmmm ... very evocative of verbal abuse and psychological manipulation by misogynists in particular.

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    It reminded me of 1984 Thought Police. Leaves some nasty aftertaste (not the poem, but the visual content it creates). Great piece!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Omg yes! Incredibly beautiful and expertly expressed

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Really well done, congrats on the Top Story!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    'Nettle soap'? Ouch. Feel I might need a shower myself when I consider this one and my own relationships. Well done, Ms. Lee. ;)

  • Jessabout a year ago

    Perfectly captures the desire to shed one's self of the mark someone has made on one's life, a striking story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    😮🥰

  • Sam Desir-Spinelliabout a year ago

    Damn that’s impactful writing

  • Jennyabout a year ago

    This is incredibly moving. Well done.

  • Gina B.about a year ago

    "When you groped my frontal lobe." is so visceral! Excited to read more of your work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.