Poets logo

Diminishing Verse Poem

“Remove the first letter(s) in the end word in each line. No more direction than that.”

By Denise E LindquistPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Diminishing Verse Poem
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Roses are gorgeous and fragrant

Sometimes I want to rant

about the beauty of nature in the fall.

After all

I started this with nature and the photo,

and don’t want to

go on without drawing a picture in words that support

the beauty above, even though it is fall we are in, and a port

is important to go in a storm, the colors are all pretty and bright

and you know everything will be just right!

~

The beauty of nature and the words that will describe.

In all my days I haven’t been referred to as a scribe

except one time, when I took notes for a researcher.

I was told that I would be assigned to help her

find the most obvious materials for the research.

She knew she would have too much information to search

on her own and so I was brought on to be concise and clear.

I was concerned as I have some trouble with that and my ear

was itchy and my stomach ached. Will I be able to perform?

I completed the required form

and went quickly to work, taking notes and editing for an easier read.

I knew that she would be placing an ad

for another helper before long and I wanted to have something

ready to go for the next step in this research thing.

~

I really should take my time with this to get it in shape

but then again I could be writing about an ape

before long, you and I will lose interest.

It may be time now to get some rest!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Published first by Mercury Press on medium.com

performance poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Mrs. D ~ I've missed you ~ Coincidence: We just clipped fragrant-fresh-flowers from our garden this morning. Yes, we all have our kitchen table game stories; especially on rainy days. I'm glad you liked 'Poker'. My Twin Brother actually plays Poker in tournaments - Me never - I'm publishing tomorrow 'Sugar Daddy' you may get a giggle out of it. Best to you, Jay

  • You nailed this format of poetry so well! Awesome work! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Partial to nature poem!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Loved your poem! ♥️💙💜❤️🩶💓💛🩵🖤🤎❣️💚🧡🩷

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.