Poets logo

Dime Store Hustle

Lyrics and other musings

By JD GlasscockPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

Dime Store Hustle

  Lyrics by JD Glasscock

He had spent his life

playing the odds

rolling bones

playing cards

 

A hard road

some would say

the streets of a drifter

an actor in a played out play

 

But luck was a lover

that always took another

as reliable as any other

a sister, a mother, a daughter, a brother

 

And it was in this game

he knew his name

knew the dance

knew the pride and the shame

of counting the wounds, the bruises,

the scars, the fame

It was in this dance he had a chance

to tell his story, to leave and breathe

the runes and croons of his beauty,

his glory

 

For a poor man from poor streets

had little to climb to

little to conceive

less to savor, and even less to dream

 

But in the carnival of a gambler's

roulette, a spin of destiny

a letter of regret

He could carve a legend,

flip a fable to the concrete

of a solid seat at the big boy's table

 Cause it's just a dime store hustle

a street corner shell game

a pick pocket slim jim

a be bop to a stage play

 

It's just a dime store hustle

a street corner shell game

a pick pocket slim jim

a be bop to a stage play

 

He had spent his life

playing the odds

rolling bones

playing cards

A hard road

some would say

the streets of a drifter

an actor in a played out play

 

But luck was a lover

that always took another

as reliable as any other

a sister, a mother, a daughter, a brother

 

And it was in this game

he knew his name

knew the dance

knew the pride and the shame

 of counting the wounds, the bruises,

the scars, the fame

It was in this dance he had a chance

to tell his story, to leave and breathe

the runes and croons of his beauty,

his glory

 

For a poor man from poor streets

had little to climb to

little to conceive

less to savor, and even less to dream

 

But in the carnival of a gambler's

roulette, a spin of destiny

a letter of regret

He could carve a legend,

flip a fable to the concrete

of a solid seat at the big boy's table

 

Cause it's just a dime store hustle

a street corner shell game

a pick pocket slim jim

a be bop to a stage play

 

It's just a dime store hustle

a street corner shell game

a pick pocket slim jim

a be bop to a stage play

 

And before his last breath

had taken his soul

to the precipice of death

he would know

that his story would be told

and that all that glitters with gold

would be his tombstone

his legend

his road......

'cause there ain't nothing more

a card shark, beaten up blue bruise

from the wrong tracks,

the wrong parts,

could hope for

as his spurs dug into the wood

rodeo roping  through the door

Inbetween

 

  Lyrics by JD Glasscock

Through the steps of my life

I've stood inbetween

Neither here nor there

I've been threading the weave

 

 I'm not a saint or a sinner

a lover or a killer

Inbetween the seams

I've been riding this dream

 

 I'm inbetween

I'm inbetween

I'm inbetween

 

I am inbetween a memory

and a breath

a smile and death

 

 

I am inbetween a kiss

and a touch

They always said

I wouldn't amount to much

 

I am inbetween a thought

and regret

murder and intent

I'm a letter of remorse

 

 

And I keep on keepin on'

 

Through the steps of my life

I've stood inbetween

Neither here nor there

I've been threading the weave

 

I'm not a saint or a sinner

a lover or a killer

Inbetween the seams

I've been riding this dream

 

I'm inbetween

I'm inbetween

I'm inbetween

 

I am inbetween a memory

and a breath

a smile and death

 

I am inbetween a kiss

and a touch

They always said

I wouldn't amount to much

 

I am inbetween a thought

and regret

murder and intent

I'm a letter of remorse

And I keep on keepin on'

I keep on keepin on'

I keep on keepin on'

and I am alone....

Inbetween

The song is the songbird

Truimphant glory in the trumpet blows of falling winter ( A new poem 8-19-11)

Poem by JD Glasscock

We tarry through this bricked cordon of limited cognizance and wish to dream a dream that will pass our sleep into waking world.....to carve our own dew drops of dementia and reality broken upon our shores.....who am I?....just a poet from the streets....too many days under belt with back cupboard cardboard to eat....nothing in the eyes of hollywood till hollywood says otherwise....oh how far we have sunk into the withers of mortal conundrum....we are parasitical leeches chewing our own flesh and tossing our integrity as paper bills to swill the loss of honor upon our feet...I slide surcease boredom into the slot of infinity and hope death soon claims me...the brush has stroked too ugly a landscape for a bard to strum a chord to the puisant solstice of truism in resolve....too long the night ...too dim the day....too few the people with something important to say...all dribble painting chins and tongue in symphonic malfeasence of off tonal dischord and dietific blathering in promotional campaigns with nothing to gain except more gold bricks with a lick of veneer and a trick of mirrors based on nothing absolvable....nothing of weight.....we break against the crested waves with too many to save and pave beautiful roads to the lip of our own freshly pitted graves...we spout words as empty as the coffers we bounce checks upon....we make choices based upon whose thighs we choose to spread.....where art is the last credential on the sheet......as the heavy drums of defining march howl from the storm that etches it's name across our flesh....across our insomniatic rest.....a test some ruminate to appease their long forgotten conscience......to tally the lucidity of our crumbling diadem....our rickety often shaking foundation.......a silver glint of metal flips off my fingertips into the never never.....heads or tails.....it's never a sure shot....Winter has come....breathe

Betty Sue and Dream Avenues

  Lyrics by JD Glasscock

Hey Betty Sue with eyes blue as ocean cool I miss you

I miss the way you swayed those hips

to the dim lit rooms of radio hits

I miss the way your laugh tickled the throat

and the dance you did under midnight cloak

I miss you

 

I miss the carnival rides

and the deep swell sighs

of soft touch kisses

and the love high tide

But many moons have sifted the sand

since you said goodbye and left the band

of troubled folks and groping hands

crumpled sheets, confusing streets

and my arms so empty of your thighs and heat

I miss you

 

Every night I hum a lullaby

to drift to moments in which

I remember your eyes

to hold, to breathe

my heart the hearth

in which you come home free

 

But I know in sleep we will again meet

where all is sweet as candy treats

new as toddler true and your eyes of blue

are as close as you

strolling the roads of Dream Avenue

together once more on Dream Avenue

Dream Avenue

Dream Avenue

Strolling the roads of Dream Avenue

 

Hey Betty Sue with eyes blue as ocean cool I miss you

I miss the way you swayed those hips

to the dim lit rooms of radio hits

I miss the way your laugh tickled the throat

and the dance you did under midnight cloak

I miss you

 

I miss the carnival rides

and the deep swell sighs

of soft touch kisses

and the love high tide

 

But many moons have sifted the sand

since you said goodbye and left the band

of troubled folks and groping hands

crumpled sheets, confusing streets

and my arms so empty of your thighs and heat

I miss you

 

Every night I hum a lullaby

to drift to moments in which

I remember your eyes

to hold, to breathe

my heart the hearth

in which you come home free

 

But I know in sleep we will again meet

where all is sweet as candy treats

new as toddler true and your eyes of blue

are as close as you

strolling the roads of Dream Avenue

together once more on Dream Avenue

Dream Avenue

Dream Avenue

Strolling the roads of Dream Avenue

 

Hey Betty Sue with eyes blue as ocean cool I miss you

Betty Sue with eyes blue as ocean cool I miss you

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

JD Glasscock

J.D. Glasscock started as a slam poet on national teams in 1990. Written and Directed 16 Award winning short films...He also has 16 self published books of poetry, lyrics and film.

Owner of StormCrow Productions

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.