Poets logo

Die

Calm

By Rick Henry Christopher Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
Die
Photo by Sasha Joe on Unsplash

The rose is red

The sky has bled

I walk with you

Look at the hue

I was content

You are silent

I'm over here

You're nowhere near

My heart is crying

Because you're dying

Why is life

So unfair

So much pain

I cannot bare

I know that one day

I will die

But for today

I will try

I will live

A life complete

For you I will

Avoid defeat

But for now

I have one goal

That is to

Calm down my soul

≈  ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈

LOVE

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreakart

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing fulfills my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (34)

  • Oneg In The Arctic6 months ago

    Quite powerful and intense. One of the deeper poems of yours I’ve read

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Well deserved Top Story. You said so much with your words, they made an impact on me.

  • M.O. Hidalgo12 months ago

    Great stuff

  • The struggle to resist giving into despair when the greater cause of our hope is no longer with us, powerfully expressed.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Awww, I felt this one. It is so difficult yet such a precious trust to walk a loved one home at the end.

  • Missclickedabout a year ago

    great work

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Very well done my friend

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    So moving. Rick. You emote authentic and Succinct exasperation, frustration, pain of your journey. I hope you attain your goal. 🥰 Congratulations on top story. 🥇

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Sophistication in its simplicity - congrats on Top Story Rick!

  • Cezanne Libellenabout a year ago

    ❤😭 I loved this Rick!! So emotional!!

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    A beautiful heart-rending reflection, Rick! 😥💗💐

  • Congratulations on your Top Story✨💖🎉😉

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    🙏🏽🙏🏽🙏🏽Prayers for you, my friend. 💖

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    Very moving poem

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    Nicely done, Rick! Some deep thoughts here!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTERabout a year ago

    Rick, congratulations on your Top Story! ✴️ It is great to see you here! 💜

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your top story Rick. These feelings reach us all. What comfort comes in that unity

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Congrats on this getting Top Story; thoroughly well-deserved!

  • SUPRIYO BORabout a year ago

    Wonderful !! Great work

  • Testabout a year ago

    Beautifully timed. I’m heavy hearted. Feels weird to say congratulations. I’m glad this made top story 🤍

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the Top Story, Rick.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Sending many healing thoughts your way. Very powerful poem that speaks volumes about trying to be there for a loved one who is passing. SMany hearts ♥️

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Very simple but says so much ❤️Congratulations on top story!!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Sending you peaceful thoughts, Rick! ❤️

Rick Henry Christopher Written by Rick Henry Christopher

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.