Poets logo

Did

Shortlist Subtitle of the Year Award entrant

By Brenton FPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
8

did my back in

lost my car

and almost the job

that i can no longer do

did my head in

lost my way

and almost my mind

almost...

did my soul in

crushed my spirit

lynched my life

left me wandering

left me wondering

did my everyday jovial self in

took on a dour sheen

sucking the life completely

from anything nearby

all those happy spot fires

doused

i did my will in

i now roll in a torrent

of illicit currents

and perverse events

i did my everything in

it wasn't much

wasn’t very much at all

but it was all mine

it was all that i had

once upon a time ago

.

.

.

CDXCII

surreal poetrysocial commentary
8

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test9 months ago

    This is brilliant, Brenton. Every damn line.

  • This was so emotional! Loved your poem!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Brenton! It's really good to see you back, mate! I've missed your wit, wisdom, and mischief with the written word! This is a great reminder of what's been missing, too!

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    Happy to see you back after a while:)

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    I love how authentic this feels💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.