Poets logo

Dialogue between Adam and the Snake

Curious Inaction

By AbolPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4

A serpent of sass sat atop a stone, adjacent to a tree in which lay a man.

'I am so bored', said Adam with a sigh.

"Boredom is your own doing!" cried the snake.

Adam looked over to the smooth, now speaking, serpent.

'What makes you say that!? How can boredom possibly be my doing if I never willed it?'

The serpent hisses, "How can life be yours if you never wished it? You were given life, yet you do not complain. and now, you are given nothing, and so you complain?". The serpent smirks, "Whose doing can that be but your own?"

Adam looks at the snake in disgust, 'Whose creator gave a worm such a tongue?? Surely not my own. I am off now to complain.'

The serpents scheme brews. "Sssurely!" mocked the snake, "but time wasted is always time wasted. If you would like, I can bring you to my creator myself! Follow me!"

Without second thought, the snake slithers behind his stone and down a hill into the entrance of a sizeable cave.

Adam, fuled by his own curious inaction, follows the serpent into its cave. There, Adam is introduced to his tomb as a family of snakes strangle him to death.

surreal poetryfact or fictionliteraturesatirefact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Abol

"If you want to be a writer, than write"

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Ahhh, so this was not "the snake," but it was one of them. I find it interesting that the snake at this part of the story is already missing its legs. Well, I guess there is nothing less boring than trying to fight for one's life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.