Poets logo

Detritus

On Bullies and Fathers and the Scar of Memory

By David MuñozPublished about a year ago 2 min read
2

My father was a hard man. I cannot say I knew his heart in any way.

Expressing himself was not a gift he claimed or exhibited, save for anger, blaring like a warhorn.

And anything could make him angry.

It was not a fun way to grow up, to learn what it takes to be a man, when that kind of person is your example. I know this now, decades later, sorting through that detritus to find meaning in my own life.

I wonder what it was like for him as a boy, how his brothers treated him, what he learned from his own sire – the only man I ever knew to make my father cry.

I saw that with my own eyes, one of my earliest memories: bad news sifting through the house like an ancient fog, and my father on the couch weeping like a child.

I was a baby myself, I think, but I wanted to crawl up into his lap and comfort him. Only now do I remember that, this poem clearing the memory like a hand wiping dirty glass, a dusty mirror revealing an old secret.

A part of me creates a reasoned story telling how that moment made him the bully I knew, broken by his own father slipping away into the eternal night, never to return. But the reality is much more basic.

My father was a bully because he was terrified of the world. He would nurse that terror in beer and neglect, then release it in rage and ridicule, menacing and roaring in a tongue I could not understand.

This poem reminds me I find comfort in the smell of shoe leather, darkness, because at its worst, I would end up on the floor of a closet, hands over my ears, softly singing nonsense songs to drown out the tumult.

Wondering what I had done to spark the argument this time, how I had lit the powder keg, taking that blame onto myself. A little soldier in a war not of my making, acting the martyr in a story not of my writing.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

David Muñoz

I'm a recovering artist in Austin, Texas. Stoic student, mystic, writer, poet, guitarist, father, brother, son, friend. I am an eternal soul living a human experience. Part of that experience is working through my stuff by making art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶5 months ago

    Beautifully written and so sad... he was to be pitied, and I'm sorry you lived through that.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.