Poets logo

Determination

For when you can't give up

By CorwynnaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Determination
Photo by Samule Sun on Unsplash

For matters with weight

I cannot give up

Although they may darken

And empty my cup

Til I am left dried there

With heart growing slow

And the cage of my body

Resents will to flow

Each finger is stone now

Of that I've no doubt

Still I must push through them

To let my words out

For what else is there

For a prisoner to do?

Whether stuck in my body

Or behind bars brand new

I cannot in good conscience

Ignore what's without

And if I can't ignore it

I must rally my clout

And pin up my weariness

Into my hair

Fold all the tired

In the clothes that I wear

Bind my stone limbs

with ribbons that pull

And puppeteer my escape

Back into the world

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.