Poets logo

Destination: Unknown

Take me back where I don't belong. #VocalNPM

By Laura GagPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ozzie, a Lifetime Ago

Sitting by this rain stained window,

a screen to what was and what is.

A vision of what could ever be…

I can see you in reverse:

a time-lapse reminiscence

goes back till the night we’ve met.

Fast-forward fifty-seven days,

I’m standing right there, waiting

for my soul to be fed, again.

Wonder wandering in the world,

endlessly searching for that place

where I know I don’t belong.

Was I going too fast,

burning bridges through the smoke?

You were just too cumbersome

once the die was cast.

Ramble on, I sing to myself

drumming fingers on my last paycheck.

Waiving at you from that highway billboard,

as I grip the bars of a prison cell.

Through grief, and pain, a spark of joy

appears, but comes in waves.

I’ve choked tears and eaten feelings

but no one can sedate.

I rest my case, but that’s in vain,

when nothing more makes sense.

Blood in my veins gets dense.

I blink, my eyes roll and here I am

back to where I froze while swinging back

and forth through time and space:

sound meets silence in a love embrace;

I could smell your spell a million years away.

So I’ll close the door behind me,

all packed up -and free, I’ll hit the road.

California, love, wait for my return.

As for now, my destination remains unknown.

Inspired By

Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Laura Gag

www.lauragagliardi.com

www.instagram.com/lawragagliardi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.