Poets logo

Desire's Deception

A love story?

By Paul and Jordan AspenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Desire's Deception
Photo by Klara Kulikova on Unsplash

the fairest of them all, he said

complexion flawless, nose demure

lips and cheeks a peaceful solace

lashes perfect, tresses pure

I read a romance in his eyes

believing all he said was true

in many ways he said he loved me

words contrived my heart to woo

I faltered then and looked away

saved by wisdom’s coup d’état

betraying what I might become

should beauty fade and youth withdraw

the root of any grace he saw

was deep and buried in my soul

the trouble – I stepped back, now wary –

outward beauty he extolled

I pulled away, a bit afraid

of how I’d almost been seduced

refused his bid to draw me close

naivety was no excuse

his eyes now gray with pseudo pain

discreetly hiding his desire

to acquiesce would be a sin

why did I ever fan this fire?

once more his words came fervidly

my ears refused to hear this guile

yet how to tell him we were through

while dazzled by that Cheshire smile?

***

From the book my heart poured out by Jordan Aspen

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Paul and Jordan Aspen

Professionally, we help entrepreneurs get other people to sell for them through the power of social proof. Learn more at civanpro.com

Personally, we write... stories, poems, educational articles and more. Read more here on Vocal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.