Poets logo

Desire for Originality

A poem

By John WelfordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Without the desire for originality,

I could have written you a poem

As searing and hot as a flame.

Without the desire for originality,

I could have written you a poem

As cool and soothing as an ice bath.

Without the desire for originality

I could have written you a poem

As tender and unsentimental

As a kiss with a mouth full of salt.

Without the desire for originality,

I could have written you a poem

As quiet and purple as a bruise.

Without the desire for originality,

I could have written you a poem

As clean and precise as a scalpel.

Without the desire for originality,

I could have written you a poem

As deep and dark as a well.

Without the desire for originality,

I could have written you a poem

As light as air,

As weightless as breath.

Without the desire for originality,

I could have written you a poem

Of such perfect pitch and metre,

It would sing to you.

If only you did not have that desire,

I could have written you a poem

That would be with you always.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

John Welford

I am a retired librarian, having spent most of my career in academic and industrial libraries.

I write on a number of subjects and also write stories as a member of the "Hinckley Scribblers".

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about a month ago

    How did this gem get away? I am a new reader/subscriber to your work and randomly clicked on this because I liked the title. I found this tempting for my muse.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.