Poets logo

Desert Island

My Salvation

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18
Desert Island
Photo by Dimitry B on Unsplash

Desert island solitude

A blessing to me

Escape from the city life

And the pressures that can be.

*

Deep blue skies above me

‘Neath me powdered sand

Instead of fumes from factories

And concrete covered land.

*

Scuba diving on the reefs

Waters clear and blue

Cocktails in the evening

Walking without shoes.

*

My younger self dreamed of this

He called it paradise

Now It is but my daily life

In any other guise.

*

What I never dreamed of

I never thought it true

This life could be bettered

But then I met you.

*

Your hair blowing in the wind

The dimples in your cheeks

The mischief reflected in your eyes

When you turn your gaze on me.

*

Laying here hand in hand

Peaceful as can be

No need to speak for comfort’s sake

Just staring out to sea.

*

My desert island solitude

No more my singular place

Since you blessed me with your presence

My salvation by your grace.

surreal poetry
18

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.