Poets logo

Dero Dero

06-12-16

By Monique WatrousPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I see your ghost

you linger, still

my heart calls out

and yet it's chilled

we stare into

each other's eyes

yet right on through

to other times

to times before

to long ago

back through time

with vertigo

here you stood

so tall, so proud

and further back

with knee to ground

and further yet

another life

where once you took me

man and wife

but they could not

just let that be

and so we dance

with destiny

back to now

back to your spirit

with haunted eyes

you sit and fear it

Fear the future

fear the past

fear of failure

fear to grasp

oh my love

please hear my plea

they did not take it all

you see

Each time I reach

you hear my heart

defy the gods

and play your part

when next I reach

if you reach too

your crown could be

returned to you...

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.