Poets logo

Deprived of freedom

For Randy Baker's 30 Prompt Challenge

By Anna Published 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
12
Photo: google.com

I'm studying

lots of things

that are and aren't useful.

Some of them

are completely bullshit...

like I can tell you now

that I won't need 'em in my life.

I know, that's all I have to do,

but fuck it!

I'm young only once

I wanna go out,

but the school's holding me back,

like a prison where's nothing but lack

of freedom.

When I'm in the dorm

I feel the opposite way

like a bird in a small cage,

which doesn't have the chance to escape,

can't break out

hilarious rules...

They think

they can do anything

that's bad for us,

taking advantage

of our vulnerability,

because this is how life works...

There's no humility

anymore...


For Randy Baker's 10th Prompt:

inspirationalFree Verse
12

About the Creator

Anna

I love writing poems and stories so I decided to turn my talent into money to help out my family a bit. Please subscribe and tip or pledge if you enjoy my work. Any support is appreciated!🫶

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Raw and emotional! Kind of like a teenager. lol This certainly fits the bill for the #10 prompt. Good job!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I hated school but I loved the learning. Learning is key even if you never use it.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    It doesnt matter what we learn at school - we need to be learning HOW to learn. How to appraise information, how to hear beyond our echo chambers, how to make use of our brains.

  • C. Rommial Butler3 months ago

    Education is indeed a conditioning program arising from the establishment. Take what you need and leave the rest to those who like to stand in lines. Always think for yourself! Well-wrought!

  • I felt the visceral realness and honesty you poured into this. You are only young once, follow your dreams whether that's at school or someplace else. Live in the moment and enjoy your youth. But keep an eye on your future. Save back a little to plan for it. Because you will be there one day. Loved your poem, great work.

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Good job, Anna!

  • This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem so much!

  • Grogu3 months ago

    I also learned a lot. After 45 years, I can say a lot of unnecessary things, but also a lot of useful ones. What we don't know at a young age is what we're going to need in life. No one can know that. When I was younger, my job was to learn and I often didn't like it. Now I have to work, but I would love to learn again...

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This is how life works .... Ouch. I felt that. I love this poem. Its restless and powerful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.