Poets logo

depression with a question mark

a shot snippet from an old diary

By joi poetryPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
depression with a question mark
Photo by Emily Morter on Unsplash

This morning

When my mom poured me a cup of coffee

I grabbed the sugar from the cabinet

And the milk from the fridge

When she drove me to school

Playing all of my favorite songs

I did not sing

I did not tap my fingers or feet

I did not skip over the songs I did not want to hear.

"What's wrong?" She asked.

With more urgency than needed

Because to her

Silence means chaos

Because in eighth grade I kept a journal

Every thought

Every love note

Every crazy new song I'd discovered

Went in it

I had to tell someone

Anyone

When they found the journal

My mother cried and my dad told me to suck it up.

That I had a “damn good life”.

I said anything to get out of that room.

"Nothing. Just tired."

performance poetrysad poetry
2

About the Creator

joi poetry

trying to participate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 5 months ago

    This is utterly heartbreaking

  • The worst thing that someone can say is "suck it up". I'm so sorry this happened to you 🥺

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.