Poets logo

Denied by Death

Underestimate No One!

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Image by Annelise Lords

Simon Belimo a.k.a. The Joker was a hitman for the mob for thirty years. He got his nickname because of the games he would play with his victims before he kills them. They retired him giving him his final job. Sheryl Linzenco.

As always Simon asks no questions, took the file, and read the information.

Finding her wasn’t hard. She was predictable, like all the other females he had to eliminate. Shopping, beauty parlors, restaurants, and parties. She was wealthy and beautiful and he wondered why? Why did she have to die? He had the perfect game to play on her. Females were is favorite, all of them would beg for their life. His ploy would work every time. Females are so predictable. He followed her to her house in the country.

He waited until the sun retired beneath the Cumulus clouds, then enters her house from the back. She was more beautiful up closer and he caught her as she was about to open the front door. A pink expensive leather Gucci purse in her hand, matching her outfit. She pauses, either she forgets something, or she changed her mind. Because he entered her house like a mouse.

She couldn’t have heard him. She slowly closes the door and turns around. It was as if she was expecting him.

He eases towards her, slowly his Glock 19 in hand,

As he points the Glock to her head, she sighs in relief and said, “thank you for doing what I wanted to do, but didn’t have the guts.”

He pulls back the gun, stares at her, searching her eyes for the fear that always appears in the eyes of his victims, as they begged for their lives.

Ready to meet her maker, she said:

You look at me, and you see

A life of privilege with a guarantee

That’s all you can perceive

Because you can’t recognize

That privilege comes with a price

Hidden behind expensive cars, houses, jewelry, and many of our device

Take my life, take my pain

Take it all, I won’t complain

I have hidden the truth

I have made many excuses

But life has refused

To exclude

All of my inherited wickedness

Even after begging for forgiveness

My fear and pain

Born from the wealth I obtain

I couldn't avoid this generational strain

So life sent you my way

To end all of my pain today.”

He stares at her in shock, and cried,

“There is no fun in killing someone who wants to die

It makes no sense to comply

Sorry to disappoint you my dear

But I take pleasure in killing only those who fear

Not the ones who just don’t care.”

As he turns and pretends to walk away,

She pulls a Derringer from her purse and say s,

“Underestimate no one, my friend

Because of your mistake, your life will end.”

Shocked and surprised he spun around

Meeting two bullets, his body hit the ground

As he lay dying still in shock

She mocked,

“Did you really think I wanted to die?”

But death has denied

Him the power to reply.

Thank you for reading this piece. I hoped you enjoy it.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.