Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

"DEMOCRACY, FREEDOM, & EQUALITY FOR ALL"

"DEMOCRACY IS COMING TO THE USA TO STAY"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 6 months ago 4 min read
Video courtesy of Michael Moore and the late Leonard Cohen

The song "Democracy is Coming to the USA" by the late Leonard Cohen is approriate for this New Year 2024.

I woke up with the song in my head as I crawled out of bed this morning.

Praying for peace, love, and light of all my breath yearning,

for freedom, equality and peace,

as we walk together before,

the rhythm of the world is crushed beneath propaganda

of a dictatorship,

of withour freedom and democracy we are sailing with a burned ship.

Let's unite.

Let's not fight.

Let's move forward in 2024,

not go back to 1824.

Today I realized I should get out and live. I may be 74, and people who have an idea who I am as a human, but they only see through their eyes and cognitive behavior as human beings.

So, today is January 1, 2024.

2023 was an unusual year of healing from long Covid and major surgery and almost dying in 2022. I lived despite my exes would wish me dead. I lived to their dismay.

I am a full-fledged city woman who never lived in the country. I was raised with music 24/7. I learned how to drive at age 15. Now I don't have a car. Rents are so high. One must choose between rent or a car.

Not being needy, just I was never wealthy, nor did I come from a wealthy family.

There are scammers online who think I am wealthy out of the wazoo. So, 2023 was a year of blocking scammers who read a false report that I was worth 14 million.

Despite the scammers and the faux news and reports of my wealth, I still love technology.

Now we are glued to our phones and computers. I have accepted this is the way of life in the era of A.I. and our technological society. However, there are so many conspriracy theories online, one must ask questions and use critical thinking skills to learn to not believe in conspiracy theories made up by anti-democracy enthusiasts.

Life is short.

Life is strife.

Life is what it is.

Life is live and let live.

Life is love,

from up above,

but literally omnipresent,

all around the universe,

of life living and caring for others

who are omnipotent everywhere.

Do we worship money?

Do we worship the golden calf?

We must have money to survive,

the everyday values of strife.

Without money one lives in a

world of depair or do we care?

The rents are raised to give the landlords 60% or 70% of one's check. If the wages go up then

One still has to pay their monies to rent and car payments.

Do the people without millions care about feeding the wealthy?

No.

However my opinion is all people need to eat, sleep, and exercise to live.

So, the billionaire hordes the money saying to everyone they don't want to pay taxes,

please.

They say the poor should pay their way,

of the silver spoon,

to continue to bloom,

into thorns as the rose petals fall to the ground,

all around.

The wealthy start to pick up the stem with the thorns,

but decide to have their lowly assistant prick their fingers with blood, sweat, and tears,

To create more fear.

I raise my glass of cheer,

to the working class who are

everywhere.

Happy New Year 2024.

Do we sit back and chill?

Do we become ill?

Do we bury our heads in the sand?

No, I love democracy and freedom,

to be free and the universe to

remember,

to live, love, laugh,

to be kind.

Democracy is coming to the USA,

This year of 2024 is important to vote,

for freedom and prosperity for all.

Vote out the cruel people who would destroy

our democracy.

Vote out the male patriarchial society.

Women are brave.

Women are smart.

Women will rule the world one day.

What can I say?

Let's vote for democracy!

So, I can continue to write this way.

Democracy is coming to the USA,

2024.

The rose will bloom.

There will no more bloodshed on the stem of the rose.

Democracy is coming to the USA.

WRITTEN BY

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

JANUARY 1, 2024

"Just thinking about my 74 years of life upon this planet Earth, and decided to write this little ditty about freedom." There are so many things that have been made political that actually are just, simply humanitarian not political. We are so divided in this country today.

All I want and pray for is freedom, democracy, equality, and the freedom to write, and to express myself as a human being.

I am a woman who cares about the Earth, the people who live on the Earth and democracy and equality for all.

I personally do not want to go back to 1950 when a woman had to rely on her man to buy the house or car. It was literally against the law for a woman to buy a house or car without her husband. There is a little group of dictators who literally want to take us back to 1950.

I personally do not want my granddaughters to grow up in a world where the patriarchial society dictates over women, and they fade into the woodwork.

for their man.

I love men, especially artists, musicians, writers, actors and all creative endeavors of the power of rhymn, rhythmn and song.

Freedom will reign and the so called little dictators will fade into the woodwork before us women fade away, because we refuse to go back to being second class citizens. I know for a fact my two sons were born from my uterus not their dad's ribs. I believe this to be the case in the majority of births.

"Democracy is Coming to the USA"

JANUARY 1, 2024

FYI PEEPS I AM ON THE LEFT WING OF THE WEST WING.

LET FREEDOM REIGN.

Prosesocial commentaryFree Verse

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Test6 months ago

    I really enjoyed this set of poems!

  • "However my opinion is all people need to eat, sleep, and exercise to live." That's exactlyyyyyyy my opinion too! Loved your poem!

Vicki Lawana Trusselli Written by Vicki Lawana Trusselli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.