Poets logo

Deja Vu

The Recurring Dream

By Ahna LewisPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Melanie Magdalena on Unsplash

Sunlight dappled, orange tasseled

Forest floor, footsteps sure

I’ve certainly been here before.

-

Crunching leaves, woodland streams

Misty veil, morning pale

I’ve found my favorite walking trail.

-

But something’s wrong, the sunlight fades

Rocky path now masked in haze

Roots entangle, vines enstrangle

Cooly forgotten, the dark invades

-

And then it’s just me

Standing alone in the gray aisle

Counting cracks in the ceiling tiles

Ceiling tiles—how did I get inside?

-

“You’ve got three days to pay!”

The rusty knife jams in the table

“I promise to pay as soon as I’m able!”

The cloaked shadow walks away

When payment is due, chaos ensues.

-

I start to run, there’s no other choice

Down the hallway, door after door

His raspy voice begins to mock

Every door is locked, locked, locked!

-

At last a handle turns

I scurry inside, hoping to survive

My chest is heaving, labored breathing

The room is dark

Lit only by the spark of his Cuban cigar

I see the golden glint of his smile

“Too bad you didn’t get very far.”

-

A tunnel opens in the ground

Twisting, tumbling, reality crumbling

I spiral downward towards the trees

I’m caught in a bed of fallen leaves

-

Autumn forest, morning sunrise

Breath of fresh air, still alive.

The world is calm, the trail is clear

I think I might go walking here.

-

Sunlight dappled, orange tasseled

Forest floor, footsteps sure

I’ve certainly been here before.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Ahna Lewis

Just a high school English teacher who never quite got over her dream of becoming an author. :)

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randa Ray12 months ago

    Beautiful natural imagery and the so thrilling! Really enjoyed reading this 👏

  • I love how you weave the human element into this! Wonderful flow :) I have always been a free form/free verse poetry writer because I love the "freedom" of it. But there is something almost magical about weaving a poem together with a scheme. Wonderful job!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    This one intensifies steadily until the peaceful dénouement. Good job capturing the dream state here Ahna. Have you ever seen Satoshi Kon's movie "Paprika"? Parts of this poem reminded me of it in various ways.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This was incredible! Loved the tension building and this disorientating nature! bravo!

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    We've all been there! Nice lines!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.