Poets logo

Defining a Happy Place

A descriptive poem about what my idea of a "happy place" is.

By Allyson HowellPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Defining a Happy Place
Photo by J Lee on Unsplash

When I was younger,

I'd get this vision of a place every so often.

It wasn't quite a daydream,

but I saw this place only a handful of times.

It still burns in my memory,

and its atmosphere is unforgettable.

This place is one that I still believe is my happy place.

Mystical,

yet eternally unattainable.

But,

just maybe,

it is intended to remain this way.

It will stay a dream,

forever.

Sitting in my mind,

Resting in the back of my brain,

it stays.

Now,

this place itself,

is absolutely mesmerizing to me.

It's a tall pink castle,

sitting atop a cluster of pastel pink clouds,

the kind that floods the sky at sunset and sunrise.

It's not daunting,

it's not intimidating,

but the doors never really open.

Just like the dream,

they remain closed off to me,

always.

I have no wish to change this dream,

to make it a reality,

or to open the doors of the castle.

For now,

and quite possibly forever,

I am content enough with standing before the beautiful castle,

doors shut and all.

Although this dream is a feast for the eyes,

the other senses may just starve in its presence.

The clouds are silent.

There is nobody around to disturb the castle's peace.

There is no feeling in this sky,

for the wind remains still and calm.

The air has no taste to it.

The eyes occupy too much attention for the mouth to even feel anything.

This dream has no scent.

If it did, it may smell like a soft perfume in a pastel pink bottle,

one to match the clouds.

Yes, this dream is one for the eyes,

and the eyes alone.

This dream,

unlike many,

is completely still.

Frozen in time.

Yes, this dream remains within itself now,

and evermore.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Allyson Howell

My name is Allyson Howell and I write about business, fiction, and everything related. I post monthly updates on the business side of my life, fiction, free verse poetry, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.