Poets logo

Decay

"I know why I’m here..."

By Kourtney RisherPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
They Make Us Suffer by Argus Dorian

I know why I’m here. This place is the only thing that’s real.

These walls are dilapidated and crumbling, moss and roaches festering the foundations.

Flies circle around my head, waiting to feed on my decaying psyche.

In the middle of the room is a rusted chair where I sit, old and weary.

The first thing I see as I look through the reflection on the barred window are the dark circles under my baggy eyes.

As I read the lines on my face, I remember the pages of history that have been burned.

Past the reflection through the window I see a spectre.

A man with dirty blonde hair and hazel blue eyes stares back at me.

His skin is smooth and his teeth is sparkling white when he flashes his canines.

He smiles at me and tells jokes, but all I want to do is sleep forever.

He sees that my demeanor hasn’t changed and says, “What’s your problem?”

“You’re just a fairy tale,” I reply.

“It’s all a joke, really,” he says as he laughs.

I pull out my white hair as the spectre skipped away into the light.

The worms crawl out of my beard and I grab one and crush it.

I grab the pliers from the floor and pull out my decaying teeth as I try to remember with every fabric of my being who the spectre is.

But maybe it doesn’t matter who he is. This place is the only thing that is real.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kourtney Risher

I'm a poet and an aspiring novelist from El Dorado, AR.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.