Poets logo

Death: Two Ways

Which way will you choose?

By Autumn BrownPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
1

I sat despairingly in my dark and lonely room, thinking desperately of how to escape. All was quiet, eerily quiet. Though suddenly a harsh knocking on the door broke the silence. Warily stood and brushed down the wrinkles in my clothes, not that it mattered, and reached to open the door. Something inside me screamed "Don't open it!". But some unseen force pressed me on. As I opened the door I gazed puzzled, this man looks familiar. He wore a dark cloak and grinned a menacing smile. Suddenly it hit me, "I know who you are! You aren't welcome here!" I shrieked then tried to slam the door shut. I peeked through the little window hoping he would be gone, But no, Death still sat waiting at my doorstep. "You have twenty minutes!" he hissed then chuckled a hateful laugh. "But I'm not ready!" I pleaded as I grabbed all that had some worth to me. My good deeds and little idols I kept. Fear clutched my heart, seizing it in its mighty grip. I stood frozen as my door flung open. My time had come.

I lay silently gazing out the window, the cheerful sunbeams danced around. When a dark shadow hovered over me. I was not afraid. I looked forward with hopeful eyes, I knew only good was in store for me. Death offered me his hand and obediently I took it. I knew that I had some pretty good days in my time, but from here on out they would only be more beautiful. I knew I would miss those I was leaving behind, but only for awhile. I knew I'd see them again. "Come on" Death cackled darkly. Though he might scare others, he didn't scare me. I grabbed my one precious belonging, my salvation that Jesus gave me. He told me that would be all I needed to get to see him. Without looking back I entered into glory land. My time had come....

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Autumn Brown

I'm a new author starting here to practice my writing. If you like what you read please share with friends on social media or send a tip if you wish:) Your support is always welcome.Thanks again!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.