Poets logo

Death's Cadence

Song Poetry Written by Me

By Brianna WrigleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The first flower,

That e'er I saw,

Was that of a lily fair,

The flower I saw so pale,

Under the light O' the moon.

The moon it shone o'er,

Shining seas, on flowers so pale and fair,

That flower I saw one summer's eve,

Was the last I e'er did see.

For the flower I saw going to my grave,

That flower so pale and fair,

The first flower I e'er did see,

Lay red with my own crimson blood.

That summer's eve I did depart,

This world so cruel, yet so fair,

My soul did descend to the heavn's,

Looking for a flower, so fair.

There I found no heav'n,

There I found no hell,

Only a sweet flower,

A flower so pale.

She looked at me,

With a smile,

So pure, so mild was she,

As she led my soul to it's rest.

That lily it saw my death,

Saw my killer strike me down,

In the graveyard where I mourn'd.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.