Poets logo

Death of a friendship

Subtle signs you don’t know what friendship is

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
12
Death of a friendship
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

Dear B,

I missed your call.

What do you need? Funny, but for the last three years now, I believe that you’ve avoided me! So, what has changed? Why reach out now? There must be something that you want, so tell me, what can I give you now?

Why else reach out, I have to ask? You made it clear that we were done, I'm not trying to be an ass!

You must admit, it sure seems strange. I'm surprised honestly, that you still publicly speak my name!

You had no qualms, left me behind. Like we were never friends, the love lent, you then, quickly declined.

When I needed you most, you simply walked away. Left me to fend for myself, all alone, made me feel ashamed!

But now I know, exactly who you are:

A false friend whose actions left me destroyed, leaving me with nothing but these scars. What you have done, you have no clue. I absolutely, positively - have no more use for you!!

Don’t bother asking how I am, or offering an ear, I learned all that I needed of you, by your enormous absence here!

Don’t false face me now, we've torn the weft, pictures and some memories are all that we have left. But you keep them too, it was made up stuff, thank you for reminding me that it was time that I finally grew up!

Oh, and I have, on my own, anew! What you see here my friend, what's left of me- hand crafted by you! What once was friendship, pure trust and love, turned to a lack of trust, indifference, I need to let go of ...

And I’ll let go of that too, just give me a few.

I'll forget and move on, those memories long gone.

Remember?......I learned that from you!

Your convenient friend,

K

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.