Poets logo

Death

The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse 1/4

By Insinq DatumPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Death
Photo by Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

I was once told a tale

By a man in a cloak

Though he was deathly pale

A bright fire he’d stoke

In the depths of his eyes

Yet it burnt very cold

It destroyed all the lies

To disprove truth of old

Because when the man spoke

I found I fell in line

A deadly masterstroke

A divinity sign

Not a mark of the gods

But mastery of mind

A true read of the odds

And all things that they bind

And I found, as he talked

That though he had not said

I just knew, me he’d stalked

For my thoughts he had read

And I did know his name

He was here for my breath

He had shown me the game

Of my late chat with Death

x

This was the first of my series on the four horsemen of the apocalypse. If you want to check out the other poems, you can find them here: Famine, Pestilence, War.

Thanks for reading, and have a great day :)

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Insinq Datum

I'm an aspiring poet, author and philosopher. I run a 5000+ debating community on Discord and a couple of Youtube channels, one related to the Discord server and one related to my work as a philosopher. I am also the author of DMTheory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.