Poets logo

Death By Distraction

Spinning Out Of Control

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago β€’ Updated 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
65
Death By Distraction
Photo by Grant Whitty on Unsplash

***Warning***

May be disturbing****

*

D riving with my phone out, I am distracted in the car

I instantly regret it, as I leave the local bar

S creaming at the window, as I cross the center line

T ime passes in slow motion as I smash into a pine

R egret the choice I made, it's too late to take it back

A n ambulance is coming, OMG, a body bag

C razy what your mind will tell you, to justify your deeds

T ime will tell if my repentance is too late, to grow those seeds

I beg and make my promises, save me and who I hit

O ne promise I won't break again, I'm through, I'm done, I quit

N othing could prepare me for the face my momma made, when she came to claim my things, and covered me up, where I laid

heartbreak
65

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • ImperfectlyPerfect11 months ago

    Love it,congrats on TS..Definitely a cautious tale for those who drink and drive

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    YOU ARE TALENTED!!!!!!!!! GREAT WORK!!!!!!!!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    If Poe had a laptop... πŸ’» Interesting TS!

  • Motivational Bucks11 months ago

    Interesting, please check this one also. https://vocal.media/motivation/how-to-break-a-bad-habit-and-replace-it-with-a-good-one

  • K. C. Wexlar11 months ago

    creative and powerful

  • Lazulii Rain11 months ago

    Powerful work.

  • ARC11 months ago

    Whoo... Kelli this is brutal. And so important. Thank you for writing such a powerful piece, heartbreaking though it is.

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing such an important message πŸ’”β€οΈ

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Well done with this one Kelli. It's chilling how many alternatives we can think of when it's already too late

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    Wow.Great job of invoking the regret and wish to take back what is done. Too many mother’s have had to cover up a loved one as they lie on the steel table.

  • Cindy Calder11 months ago

    I read your poem because the Pieta is my favorite piece of art. The poem is haunting in its regret and remorse. A beautiful parallel to the image you chose.

  • This is hauntingly beautiful and heartbreaking, Kelli. Such a beautiful and heart-wrenching poem, and a perfect entry for the acrostic challenge! Well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Congrats, Kelli!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Oh wowwww. Heavy and important stuff, Kelli. Congrats on the top story!

  • JBaz11 months ago

    powerful, insightful and still all to true Absolutely a great read Congratulations

  • Ace11 months ago

    awesome

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    A horrible truth. Unfortunately, not fictional for so many. Awesome work Kelli. Congratulations πŸ₯°πŸ₯‡

  • Simon George11 months ago

    The image and the story fit so well together. Nice ending. πŸ‘Œ

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Wow so creative and dark. Love this.

  • JarosΕ‚aw11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    A haunting story in this acrostic poem! Congratulations 🎊 on top story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Storyβ—πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Congratulations on Your Top Story, well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.