Poets logo

Dearly Depressed

Poem by S.C. Says

By S.C. SaysPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Dearly Depressed

Dearly Depressed,

We are gathered here today

To join in holy matrimony a fear of being unable to tell the difference,

Between a paper cut and a suture,

And the loss of a desire

To answer that Icarus of a question,

“Are you ok?”

As if we weren’t all balls of wax

Pretending to be hummingbirds.

No one ever told me the Sun is a voyeur,

Who’s watched more people die

Than do anything else.

So I feel more content on the days it is hidden.

Hoping that if it can’t see me,

Maybe I won’t have to explain myself.

This appendectomy of a body

Playing dress up with anti depressant hammy downs.

Trying to find the PH balance of giving a shit.

Some days,

Holding on to Hope

Feels a lot like

Looking for a needle in a knife fight.

You find yourself wondering

"What’s the point?"

One’s just more efficient at its intentions.

Someone once told me

"You can’t have too much of a good thing."

I said "it’s called drowning."

I said "drowning looks a lot like breathing

If you’re doing it wrong."

They said, "Hold on."

"Hold on."

"Hold on I think you’re on to something."

They said, "We just have to get to the bottom of this.

This bottomless bottle."

I said "it’s not a drinking problem.

I just prefer my pills to taste like gin and trepidation."

I said "it’s only an addiction

when the medication doesn’t come with a prescription."

I said "I’m sorry.

I haven’t been myself this side of 2012.

It’s the sun.

It’s so consistent.

As if to remind us we can’t be."

And I hear black holes are nice this time of year.

I hear stars are just old stories

We haven’t realized are ghosts.

I hear love and a nuclear reaction have a lot in common.

In that they both leave one wondering

"How long until it’s safe to go back again?"

I made a bargain with a gun salesman.

Said "I’ll put a hammer to these bullets

If you can tell me

How many nails were on the cross with Jesus?"

He said "Three."

I said "Higher.

You forget there was a person up there."

And I guess we do that from time to time.

Forget that stories rarely die

But people often do.

And I don’t fear death,

Just a life that looks like it.

I’ve seen enough eyes that read like epitaphs

I mean

I’ve been to a few weddings.

I mean

I’ve been to a few graduation ceremonies.

I mean

I’ve looked at a few mirrors before.

Just to remind myself that I could come back again.

I came back again.

It took awhile

But I came back here again.

I forgot something.

It was me, I think.

I think I’m me again.

I think I’ll try again.

I want to try again.

Dearly Beloved,

We are gathered here today

To tell a story.

Not of "It gets better."

But of days in which the sun

Didn’t get to see me meet it’s expectations.

Not yet.

Not yet.

No, I’m not done yet.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

S.C. Says

S.C. Says is an Austin based slam poet who has been performing slam poetry since 2013. He's toured and featured at venues and universities across the country, and his poetry has been viewed over 700,000 times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.