Poets logo

Dearest Emily

A lyrical response to Emily Dickinson's "I'm nobody! Who are you?"

By Miranda PutneyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3

Dearest Emily,

Hello, I am nobody, too!

Just like you.

Perhaps they would

relate to us- too!

I do agree to be somebody

Would be

Quite dreadful

In the swamp of life

chirping all the time-

Nobody answers to nobody,

You see

I answer to me

I couldn't do that if

I was somebody

But I'm not,

I'm just me

But you see,

You are just you, too

And you do

See me,

So, let's just be

A pair of nobodies.

You and me

Miranda and Emily

art
3

About the Creator

Miranda Putney

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    'Nobody answers to nobody' - loved this line!! Great work :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.