Poets logo

deardrops

(remember these moments)

By hannah beckinghamPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

her laughter was so sweet to me.

little lady,

she laughed at me every day.

i wore the knowledge that she found me funny like a badge of honour.

like a medal.

like my proudest moment .

i loved to bring it out, her laugh -

to tease great globby drops of giggles from her tiny frame

until they burst forth

and filled the room,

and poured down the hall,

and through the door, and out

onto the street.

those drops that i remembered as drops fell from my eyes,

out from my chest,

onto my belly

in my private watery moments of grief.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

hannah beckingham

A nurse, sister, daughter, auntie, sober alcoholic, recovering debtor, nomad-at-heart, preacher's kid, over-thinker, dog-lover, new-to-my-40s queer cis-woman, teacher, reader, writer and netflix-binger sharing some thoughts along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.