Poets logo

DEAR VOCAL

A Letter

By Babs IversonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
32
DEAR VOCAL
Photo by Clever Visuals on Unsplash

Dear Vocal,

It's thirteen hours

before the deadline.

It's doubtful a win,

but it would be sublime.

Entering your challenges

with the greatest of hopes.

Afterward deflated and thought,

it was all a joke.

Trying again and again,

I hit the keystrokes.

Concluding, like a cartoon,

that's all folks.

My stories and poems

were ignored.

It sucked

that there wasn't a big WIN reward.

With each challenge,

hope was restored.

Sending me back

to the drawing board.

It's our second anniversary.

I didn't forget.

Was it your cruel hoax

to send a stale Baguette?

Mac and cheese

I didn't receive

Vocal you are such a tease.

Peanuts, no half pennies

for each read.

I can't even afford to eat at Denny's.

Is this going to be

my swan song?

We have to wait and see.

Where did I go wrong?

I asked of thee.

Now, I've come to an end.

It's time to flee

a ball game to attend.

You see.

Farewell.

Take care of yourself and others.

Best wishes,

Babs, a Vocal creator

slam poetrysad poetryheartbreak
32

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    yep. true.

  • You have captured it well!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Absolutely what we all feel

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Thank you for writing this, now I won’t have too. 😉good job.

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    This is so relatable 🤣.. I like the challenges though, because they force me to think outside of my comfort zone

  • The vast majority of us on this site can absolutely relate with this. Hope. Deflate. Hope Deflate. Repeat, ad infinitum.

  • Stephen A. Roddewigabout a year ago

    I read the subject line and said "Oh, boy." It did not disappoint 😎

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    So relatable! 🥲 Thank you so much for expressing in words the bittersweetness of it all! ❤️ Amazing work!

  • Steve Lanceabout a year ago

    Well said. Maybe this is the one.

  • Atomic Historianabout a year ago

    It’s wonderful Babs

  • Don't bother with Vocal. I don't care what they say because in my eyes, your writing is excellent and every one of them are winners!

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Yes! For sure, it's not just you. It is me too! I try to send one for each challenge thinking that I am not winning but what if I didn't submit and that would have been the one? I have never guessed the top stories I have received and it was not alot. I think I have gotten somewhat better at writing but maybe not. I am definitely not as nice as you Babs, time to sign off. Before I scoff!

  • Brannan K.about a year ago

    Feel ya, babs! You aren't the only one with raised eyebrows around here!

  • Well you won't have any competition from me, good one

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    You tell 'em. Great poem, my friend.

  • CJ Millerabout a year ago

    Babs, on top of writing great stories and poems, I think you're the kindest contributor on Vocal. Always an uplifting, supportive word for everyone. Thank you for being such a bright light. 💜

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Good one, Babs. Now I’m curious. You mentioned Mac and cheese. Are you talking about the one challenge a year or so ago where you would receive 3 boxes of Mac n cheese for doing something. I forget what the qualifications were. Anyway, enjoy the game.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • E.K. Danielsabout a year ago

    Aww, I would give you more than peanuts, Babs. I always enjoy reading your work! 💖

  • Nice one 💖💯

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Don't give up hope Babs! It's lovely to read your work :)

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    ❤️🥲

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Well done, Babs! "Relatable" doesn't quite say it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.