Poets logo

Dear Trump

A Poem to Our President

By Montana RosePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

After thirteen

I forgot what it meant

To know pride from my parents

Perhaps I wasn’t looking hard enough

Perhaps they were showing me in their own way

Yet everywhere I looked I couldn’t find what I was

Looking for

After fifteen I couldn’t hold a conversation

With my parents unless I pretended to

Know everything they cared about.

Obama took office and my dad shat on him

Not because he was black

Daddy just didn’t like the man.

And because I didn’t know which side to choose,

I pretended to hate him too.

Then came Hillary

And because dad hated her

I pretended I did too.

But deep inside I wanted to see a woman in office.

But that could never happen I was told

Because women would send us to world war three over menstrual cramps and hormones.

So I voted for you and hoorayed you for my dad.

And the glass ceiling

It shattered,

And I became more conflicted with what I truly believed.

The media was overfed with your campaign

And facebook was attacked with school shootings

And Tidepod snacks.

My friends they hate you

But my parents they love you

Me? I don’t know what to choose.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.