Poets logo

Dear So Called Father

I Never Got To say My Peace

By Amanda J MollettPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Dear So Called Father
Photo by Noah Blaine Clark on Unsplash

Dear So Called Father,

I never forgot to tell you

How bad you suck

When I was younger, I thought I had a better dad

No, such luck

My mom was my dad

She was always there for me

She made me the woman that I am today

You were never there

Not even one day

I barely knew you were, or where you would be

Except for time you missed in my life

I barely get a reaction from you

When I became someone’s wife

You care more about the random people you meet at a coffee shop

Rather than your own kin

I cannot believe I am related to you

But at least I do not have your eyes, your hair, or your chin

Goodbye from a daughter that never got to say her peace

slam poetrysad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.