Poets logo

Dear Self,

A letter of self-reflection

By Adrianne KirkseyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Dear Self,
Photo by Robson Hatsukami Morgan on Unsplash

Dear Self,

It's been a hell of a ride.

The things you have been through,

are your testimony.

You will never

be able to

make sense of why things happened,

the way they did.

You are just now learning yourself.

Please don't be resentful,

because you were trying to "learn" someone else.

No one taught you to honor your body or soul.

But please don't hold a grudge.

Because now you know,

you needed the pain,

to grow.

Please,

do not turn cold,

because this world

has been unkind to you.

You must move forward and continue to strive,

for a better life for yourself and your family.

Stop beating yourself up.

You did the best you could,

with what you were given.

Do not hate yourself,

because you could not love yourself.

You must not give up!

This time around,

no validation is needed.

You knew who you were,

before the world told you

who you were.

I am a writer!

I believe crazy, unexplainable, things have happened to me

because it was written.

I am the storyteller.

I was born to do this.

And who knows what else!

I was prepared for this.

The constant rejection.

Being told no.

But today,

I say yes to myself.

Today,

You're saying yes to life.

And I look forward to

the blessings I believe,

will come my way.

When you surrender to this universe.

You are learning.

speaking nothing but good health,

and wealth to yourself.

I love you so much.

Never forget that.

Sincerely,

The new me.-AK

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Adrianne Kirksey

"TURN YOUR PAIN INTO PAPER"

I am just a young grandmother with an old soul.

My goal is to create generational wealth for my family by doing something I love!

Victor's Daughter- AK

"The Writer of all Wrongs"

Please Like, Share, or Subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.