Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Dear Scale

An upsetting event (to me) from today

By Rene PetersPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Dear Scale
Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

TW: Talk about weight

*

Dear Scale,

Why did you have to ruin my day?

The number increased since last week.

I thought I was doing everything right

but I'm now learning that I somehow fucked up.

I went from borderline morbidly obese

to "just" obese.

I lost weight consistently with varying amounts

for six damn months.

But now you're hurting my mental health more,

just by going up two pounds.

Why are you fucking with me?

What did I mess up after so long of progress?

Will you ever answer my questions?

Am I stuck trying to learn on my own?

Sincerely,

Me

sad poetryslam poetry

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    I'm a Nutritionist and if you don't mind me asking, may I know what are things you're doing to lose weight? I can see if I can help you.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Water weight will do it every time. I hate my scale

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    And that is why I don't own one... ⚖️

Rene PetersWritten by Rene Peters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.