Poets logo

Dear River

Carry on

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Dear River
Photo by Elijah Hiett on Unsplash

Dear River,

I sat today along your bank, feet dangling in the cool damp. Playful fishes nibbled at my toes, causing my tendons to clamp. When I seek solace from ills or just simple solitude I come to you, knowing that your softly babbling conversation my troubles will soothe.

Always you offer quiet company, relaxation, and maybe even a meal if I happen to bring a hook. You never mind if I ignore your presence to get lost in a book. You listen to my every thought, good or bad, without judging. Even when I vent my frustration and anger at life, you are never begrudging.

I apologize for the rock I skipped off of you earlier. I hope it didn't hurt. I guess when it sank beneath the ripples I knew you weren't a worrier. By the way, thank you for the lovely autumn leaf you brought to me. It was a nice shade of green and red and was a joy to see. I shall press it within the pages of a book so that each remaining day upon it's loveliness I may look.

I can doze next to you, slumbering peacefully, forgetting about this ticking bomb in which I reside. Beneath the willow along your shore my psyche can hide.

Within your caress I can immerse myself as I can with no other. You gently kiss my bodies every inch better than any lover. Your water cools my feverish skin even as this rot eats my flesh from inside. When soon this raging cancer ends me, I pray near your comforting presence my soul shall abide.

I will miss our talks.

Sincerely,

An old friend soon to be gone

inspirationalnature poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.