Poets logo

Dear People,

A letter about how we can talk to each other as humans

By Mohammed DarasiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
Dear People,
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Dear people,

I’m typically quiet, you might think I’m with lethargy

But today I’m gonna have to speak up with some energy

I witness those who speak with such hatred, such malice

Deluded

Thinking the louder voice will bring balance

-

Shouting at the top of their lungs, believing their beliefs

Can be understood simply by loud human screech

If you come at me with that loud noise to annoy

I’d rather turn around and just laugh. Coy

“Oi”

“Do you believe what I believe?”

No, but-

“Then let me shout it louder and see if you conceive, then believe”

-

Why would I listen to your shouting?

Hollering

What’s in it for me, it’s all very tiring

If you chose to speak to me like I’m a human with two ears,

Id listen gladly and discuss different tiers

-

But every time I speak and argue back while relaxed

You let go of the discussion and then begin to holler back

-

That behaviour is an analogue to catalogues

Of oppressors from way back. You just ran along

The idea of your thought being better

Never considering the other one being clever

-

Cacophonic

-

We are smart creatures with reasoning

So speak with eloquence and then begin

Trying to convey your ideas and views

To the other side, but never misuse

The power we have as human beings

As speech is a powerful thing, when not abused

-

Sincerely,

An observer

social commentaryinspirationalhow to
6

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️💯👣📝

  • Ah, this is so true! Speech is definitely a powerful thing when it is not abused. Loved your well written poem!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Oooh I loved the way you expressed your point here.. Speech is a powerful thing for sure when used judiciously! --Cool rhymes within too!

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    You proved your point with this one, saying so much with a poem… while the loudest people say a whole lot of nothing.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Love this, Mohammed! Such a powerful message, and one that many need to hear! Great work- Fantastic job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.